Dedication

Some of you may have noticed a new dedication in the fourth book of The Nathan Miccoli Series.  (If you haven’t, now’s a good time to stop reading this blog and go buy the book.)

Usually, I dedicate it to my two beautiful miniature schnauzers, H & L.  (L, on the left, is no longer with us.)

008_8

And to my beta readers- Jackie, Gina, Jodi, Phil and Mom.

Don’t worry beta readers, including new beta reader Michael, you are properly thanked in the acknowledgement section.

This book, two new names are there – Cheryl & Adam.

Now a days, you have to grab a reader fast.  If you don’t have them in the first chapter (some say the first line), you’ll lose them. While on vacation in January 2014, I was editing book three (Gone But Not Healed).  My mind was already starting on book 4.  I knew Nathan would be undercover and I knew Lily and Annie would face some challenges.  As I stood in the crowded Baltra Airport waiting for a flight back to the mainland of Ecuador, I was chatting with fellow baseball fans, Cheryl and Adam.  I’d been lucky throughout the trip meeting very nice people, who welcomed me to their dining table as we cruised the Galapagos.  Cheryl and Adam were one such couple.  After Adam told me about how San Francisco polices Giant-Dodger games, my mind wondered into the land of Nathan Miccoli.  Voila! Opening of book four!  It’s hysterical and gets the novel going.

Often on the Galapagos trip, fellow cruisers would ask me if they would be in my next book. (When people ask me what I do for a living on a vacation, I answer I’m a writer.  1- in the hopes I’ll gain a new fan. 2 – because I don’t want to be pestered about ailments if I tell them the job that pays the bills.) I assured them they wouldn’t.  Most were disappointed:)

But you never know where inspiration will strike.  Like in the airport:)

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

