My mom’s favorite baseball player

My mother can name two New York Mets – David Wright & Tom Goodwin.  Why does she like Tom Goodwin so much?  Because Goodwin was her maiden name.

Two years ago, my mother and I went to Miami to see the Mets play.  I bought her a T-shirt with his name and number on the back and we waited patiently in hopes of meeting him.

100_0211Unfortunately, we didn’t see him but last year I mailed him the picture and he promptly signed and mailed it back!  Such a nice man!

Sunday I had the pleasure of meeting him at the Mets Inaugural Women’s Baseball Skills event.  I had a great time.  Mets first base coach & outfield coach, Tom Goodwin, led the Outfield portion.  I didn’t deserve a fist pump for my work in this section (see yesterday’s blog) but he was kind enough to take a photo with me afterwards.  He laughed when I told him he was my mom’s favorite player!

IMG_1097

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

