Writing Wednesday

As a writer, I’m always looking for a new inspiration, for a new idea, sometimes for a new phrase.

I interact with a fair amount of people every day – some are nice, some aren’t (that includes almost everyone I interacted with yesterday).  Some are funny and some are funny without meaning to be.  A beta reader has pointed out the conversation in my books is very realistic, and flows easily.  I think it’s because I listen closely to how people speak.  

A couple of years ago, while horseback riding in Iceland, a British lady on the tour used the phrase “keen as mustard.”  I laughed so hard I almost fell off the horse.  (OK, full disclosure, I almost fell off the horse prior to the laughing also.)  

Today I heard a phrase that made me laugh so hard I had tears coming out of my eyes.  I don’t think I can ever use it as a writer.  I cannot imagine any of my current characters every saying it (I hope they never need to!) but it was hysterical.  I cannot imagine another human being, other than my very nice teenager patient, saying it.  I told him and his mother, once I could speak, I would never forget the phrase “aggressive bathing”.  Words I never thought would be used together.  I hope you ponder this phrase and have a laugh.

Keep checking my blog, Facebook and Twitter for an important message coming SOON about Book 2 of The Nathan Miccoli Series, ‘Gone But Not Goodbye” 

Leave a Reply

