My First Royalty Check

This should be an exciting post.  But, as I often mumble during my day, it’s a cruel, cruel world.

I self-published my novel on November 13, 2013.  Five and a half months later, I’ve just gotten my first royalty check.  I smiled when I read “Amazon Digital Services” when I opened my mailbox.  I made it an event in my house to open it.  This is the first step in becoming a full time author.  I had an idea of what the amount would be, for sales through February.  I was shocked when I opened the envelope and saw the check.

Image

This paltry amount was not what I expected.  

I quickly checked my Amazon account and learned the check I expected was mailed 2 days later than this one – and the amount I expected.  It doesn’t cover the costs I’ve laid out for ‘Gone But Not Missed’ but it’s a start:)

So, this first check will be quite a story years from now when I’m a famous author (fingers crossed).  It’ll be framed and hung on the wall in my office, when I have one.  

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

