The sequel

I was so pleased when people starting asking when ‘Gone But Not Missed’ sequel would be release.  (It’s titled “Not Forgotten”)

At that point, beta readers had read it already with mixed results.  I knew it was missing something.  My first beta reader, Jackie, even read it 2x.  Her feedback was helpful but something was still missing.  I thought the meeting with my editor would clear things up.  To say the meeting went poorly is like saying the Mets had a bad year in 1962.  (FYI- They had a historically bad year)  Don’t get me wrong I knew the book needed work but when she likened some scenes to “reality TV’, I tried not to cry.   jackie asked “Did she say anything good?”  I thought for a minute, reviewed my notes & answered “No.”

Fortunately, Jackie took the time out of her busy day to call me to discuss the meeting.  I kept saying, “Don’t worry.  I can fix it,” really to myself.  Although she agreed:)  I told her I’d be taking the LIRR (Long Island Railroad) on Saturday and I always do some great writing in the hour to/from NYC.

But yesterday, as I searched for my house keys, the idea hit me & I jumped up and down screaming “That’s it!”  so excited that I had thought of how to fix the issues with the book.  (Sounds easy, but it’s a lot of re-writing but at least I have a plan.  As the A-Team’s Hannibal would say, ‘I love it when a plan comes together.”)

FYI – Found my keys in the silverware drawer:)

(This is my way of saying there will be a delay in the sequel’s release)

Leave a Reply

