Ever mix up gifts?

Have you ever given the gift you had for one person to another?  Was it hilarious? Or mortifying?

I was very lucky as a child to have a great aunt who loved me like a grandchild.  Her sister, my Nana, died when I was 10 and she took me on as one of her own grandchildren, despite having many grandchildren of her own.

She often gave me pajamas for Christmas.  One year, while I was in college, I went to visit Aunt Joan and Uncle Johnny to wish them a Merry Christmas.  I chatted with them for a while, they gave me a nicely wrapped gift and I left.  I don’t know why I didn’t open the gift there.  I think another family member came over so I left.

When I got home, I got quite a shock.

Yes, it was pajamas.  But I’m sure they weren’t the ones she picked for me- her 19 year old niece.  It was two short, silk nighties- one pink and one blue.  Not the usual floral flannels!

I will never forget it!

(You know a perfect gift….my mystery novel ‘Gone But Not Missed’, available at amazon.com/author/arkennedy)

Leave a Reply

